The Beginning of Intern Year

I remember at the beginning of medical school they tell you that there will be a lot of first days in medicine, so get used to it. I really had no grasp of what that would mean until sometime during 3rd year, when I found myself getting to know yet another new group of people who would be my temporary teammates until we all transferred to different assignments, sometimes the next day and sometimes in a months time. It turns out those first days go on well into residency! Every time I walk into Labor and Delivery or 2 South, the ob/gyn floor, or the OR I have to introduce myself to a new group of people. Which, honestly it’s way easier introducing yourself as “the new intern” versus “the rotating medical student” but the respect is somewhat the same at this point.  

My co-interns!!! Melissa and Anne Marie (plus Joy, the baby). You get a keepsake poncho for riding on the Maid of the Mist...mine was promptly recycled.

Baby Joy doing what she does best, being adorable! She is Anne Marie's now 4 month old daughter.

 

My first official day was last Friday, July 1, the day most programs integrate new interns into the hospital and clinic services. This month I am on the Gyn service, which is essentially going to a bunch of gynecological surgeries. So far, everything is going well, I’m just trying to learn the current order of things which takes a little time. And it’s weird realizing what my responsibilities are, like writing prescriptions. Yep, that’s one of my jobs, which I occasionally forget about. And writing REAL progress notes. Before, there was low motivation to write a note if I didn’t have to, because my progress note was for “my educational benefit” only, and not for the actual communication of patient information. But now, my note kind of matters…

This weekend I took my first overnight call in the Labor and Delivery ( L&D), which was honestly the least crazy I’ve seen our board of laboring patients over the past week- there was a 3 hour time period when there were NO patients in labor and no patients who thought they were in labor sitting in triage. But it was nice to start on a slow day so I could figure out how things worked in L&D, which is where I will be next month. Which reminds me, No, I have not delivered any babies yet since beginning residency. Just in case you were wondering.

This Sunday, in honor of the 3rd of July…j/k the 4th of July, which we celebrated on the 3rd, a few of the residents and I went up to Niagara Falls for a picnic and to watch some fireworks. There were people everywhere!!! It was pretty spectacular to see the falls at dusk and to celebrate America’s Independence Day!!! 

At the Falls with my co-residents, Christina and Jenni.

 

We had a tough time dodging all the tourists! We managed to capture this before the masses crowded in for the fireworks.

And I’ve saved this for the end, because it brings me great sadness to report that I have relinquished my TX drivers license and am now in possession of a NY drivers license. It’s official- I live here.

3 thoughts on “The Beginning of Intern Year

  1. I like all of that except the last sentence… what a horrifying day that must have been. I’ll have PTSD from that day forward when it happens to me.

  2. Love reading your posts. They make me feel good. I found out today I will be in Niagra Falls about 2:PM on October4th. I will be free that after noon and night to do anything I want. If you are free at that time hopefully I could see you. I was excited we had free time. I do not know what your schudle is but I am excited!!! Love you , MeMe

  3. Back from PK and catching up. Love to be able to keep up with you this way. The lake was great. Hope you can make it some year soon. With all of the kids being over 10 it was a nice, easy weekend. Lots of food, fun, and family. Love you

Leave a Reply

