Festival Season is upon us

The peope of Buffalo LOVE summer. So much that many Buffalo natives will claim that the wonderful summers make up for the snowy, long winters. (The reasonable people still tell you the truth.) In any case, people really take advantage of every single day in the summer. And thus every weekend there is a different festival to attend.

The madness

Last weekends festival was the “Taste of Buffalo”- a great event held in the middle of downtown to celebrate the many fine restaurants of Buffalo. Basically, lots of restaurants showcased their speciality items or new and crazy food items for a small fee of $2-4. Here are some of the unique things I saw/tried:

– Nitropops- little chocolate brownie icecram pops on a stick…it was like what a cupcake is to a cake, this nitropop would be to a dilly bar.

– Macaroni & Cheese pop- I imagine this would have been a delicious ball of mac and cheese, lightly breaded and deep-fried and then served on a stick…but sadly they were sold out by the time I reached the stand

– Funanas- ie. chocolate bananas…but seriously, why would you call them funanas?

Fun-ana...what's my name, what's my name? Delicious but no need for the name or silly advertising!

– Chicken Wing soup- Yes, this is what you think it is…a soup based on the beloved Buffalo Wings. It was actually not great….which is of course a challenge for me to find a way to make chicken wing soup delicious and not a hot, creamy mess.

– Roast Beef Sunday- This looked like something KFC would dream up! A base of mashed potatoes, covered with beef and gravy and probably something else on top. I passed on this one.

– And then of course the usuals….pizza and calzones at everyother stand!

The LB stands for 'Lil Bacon

All in all, it was a good time and a great way to explore the restaurant scene in Buffalo without spending a fortune. The best part may have been this local Motown band which consisted of 5 or 6 black guys in their sixties who sang and danced to classics like “My Girl.” Such a fun day!

Tomorrow is the kick off event for the “Italian Festival” which is held a couple blocks away from my apt. On my drive in to work this morning I saw people setting up carnival rides…this festival is a bigger deal than I ever imagined!!! I wonder if they need taste testers for the pizza tasting contest?!?!

And for the doubters out there, I do work. Well, mostly. I go to work, but I’m still spending a large amount of my time 1) finding out where I’m supposed to be, 2) figuring out what I’m supposed to be doing and 3) staying out of trouble….I’ve had minimal to moderate success. At least everyone is friendly and helpful about helping navigate the hospital and clinic.

 

Leave a Reply

