Livin up the night life…sort of

I’m on Night 16 out of 20 for the month. Let’s just say it’s been a long month. My schedule is as such:

Go to work, come home, pass out, wake up, shower and make a lunch, pass through Starbucks for my cup of coffee, then back to work.  Then Saturday morning comes and I’m off work for 56 hours in a row! Most of which is spent asleep at odd hours and awake in the middle of the night. But alas, it is the way it is. After this week I’ll be back on a regular day schedule.

With this kind of schedule I have not had too much time to explore more of buffalo, but there have been a couple of fun things at home.

1)      I finally have a living room table! It came last week and I spent part of the weekend putting it together. It looks great and even matches the stain on the rest of the wood paneling in my apartment.

Isn't this awesome! I "built" it straight from the directions in the box!

2)      I have gone back to my roots…my baking roots that is. For the past two weeks I’ve taken some inspiration from the Farmer’s Market and baked with the local fresh produce. Last week I made a Plum Cake and this week I baked stuffed bell peppers! Both were delicious! The plums up here are really amazing- so many different kinds and colors! The kind I bought were plumcots, which I assume is a cross between a plum and an apricot.

Here are the recipes I used:

http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/07/plum-kuchen/ My plum cake looked nothing like the cake in this blog, and actually did not taste like cake at all.  It tasted like a cross between biscuits and jam and plum cobbler. In any case, it was delicious.

http://thisweekfordinner.com/2010/04/30/stuffed-peppers-worth-stuffing/ I used ground chicken- I wanted ground turkey, but all I could find was ground chicken. It was delicious in the end, so I suppose it doesn’t matter.

Here’s hoping this final week on nights (for this rotation at least) is a good one!

One thought on “Livin up the night life…sort of

Leave a Reply

